What are you waiting for?

Gotta love quotes! I know I do.

“The longer you wait for something the more you appreciate it when you get it, because anything worth having is definitely worth waiting for.”

I have no idea where the above quote originally comes from but I came across it the other day when I was in a particular state of anxiousness and it made me feel better. When I finally get a job I know I will appreciate it so much more than I would have if I were offered one before even graduating, and I guess that is a gift. “Good things come to those who wait”…but good things are also handed to people without them having to wait at all… I think God really wants me to learn a whole lot of patience. But in reality, some of the best and most meaningful things in life come along very rarely, ultimately making them the best and most meaningful.

Frankly, I’m tired of talking about “being unemployed” (and about simply BEING unemployed). So let’s talk about some other things that in my experience are usually worth the wait.

1. The next Hunger Games movie

It isn’t even here yet but I already know once it arrives it will be SO EXCITING. HOW ACCURATE WILL IT BE COMPARED TO THE BOOK?? We don’t know yet!

2. Christmas

If it were Christmas more than once a year then I would be fat from eating too many cookies and I would not appreciate the jolly mood that Christmas music always puts me in.

3. Love!

Family love, Friendship-y love, ROMANTIC love…it’s not grown on trees, people. Whether it lasts awhile or seems not to, it is something special not only because it is rare but also because it’s a very special and lovely feeling to have people/ a person who make you a better person and who ya just can’t get enough of.

4. The next Coldplay album

So I know there are Coldplay haters out there saying Coldplay was soooo 7 years ago but they don’t come out with new albums as often as Rihanna which is probably (one reason) why I like them a lot more than her.

5. The next episode of your favorite TV show

I don’t really understand television schedules. Shows are supposed to be on once a week but sometimes there are a lot of weeks between episodes, maybe leaving you on a cliffhanger.  But how exciting will it be when you find out whether that person from that one show DIED of being shot or was just injured??

6. Getting what I want in general

I don’t always get what I want. Most people don’t. Having to wait for things that I want, like a job, is wonderful and terrible practice in patience. This is something that in the Hren household we call “building character.”

Well this is obviously a VERY short list of things worth waiting for. But it’s a good reminder for me that although waiting can be excruciating and frustrating, it can lead to beautiful things. So HOLD ON.

Tagged , , , , ,

One thought on “What are you waiting for?

  1. Moira says:

    It was worth the wait for your latest insightful post!!! Keep em coming!

Leave a comment