The Missy Awards

So the big news of the day is that the Grammys were yesterday. Just kidding—the Pope is resigning. That’s bigger. But for now I’m focusing on the Grammys. After discovering that I have no talent for predicting who will win those awards, I decided to take things into my own hands. I have invented the Missy Awards, a prestigious honor for those talented enough to be on the list of winners. Please be warned that I am no musical pioneer and the list highly favors strong female vocalists.

Best Song to Motivate You After Being Rejected from a Job: This is War, Ingrid Michaelson

Last week I found out that I did not get the job that I really was anticipating being hired for which was a huge, huge bummer. I checked my e-mail from my phone one morning before even getting out of bed and was greeted with a nice rejection e-mail for a job that for many reasons I was confident I would get.  After reading the e-mail I contemplated never leaving my bed again but that would be pathetic. This is War is a good motivator of a song, with lyrics like “I won’t surrender” and “Someone’s got to lose/it’s not gonna be this girl this time.” Woo! That got me out of bed eager to apply to even MORE jobs and beat out all the other candidates applying for the same jobs. Look out, people.

Best Pre-Interview Song: Call Your Girlfriend, Robyn

This is a fabulous song to dance away any pre-interview nervousness. Please watch the music video and be inspired by Robyn’s dance moves. My roommates from last year can attest to the fact that she makes it look easy to dance like that but you can still try to dance like her and enjoy it.

Best Post-Really Great Interview Song: All I Do is Win, DJ Khaled feat. Ludacris, Rick Ross, T-Pain & Snoop Dogg

Alright, don’t judge. The only lyrics I actually know from this song are “All I do is win,” but those should be enough to convince yourself after a perfect interview that you are going to get the job. So far in terms of jobs all I do is lose, but one of these days this song will be more relevant.

Best Song to Listen to While Watching Netflix at 2pm on a Weekday: I Was Here, Beyoncé

Being without a job leaves me with a lot of free time, and also times when I really don’t know what to do with myself. These times when I don’t know what to do with myself are when I feel most anxious for a job, to feel like I am contributing more to society. These sentiments are well-expressed by my girl Beyoncé. Even though she SEEMS to be more successful than I am so far this song is a good example that you don’t have to be a famous celebrity to leave a significant mark on the world.

Best Blogging Song: JOY, Ellie Goulding

I’m currently listening to this song.  It makes me feel like I’m doing something really important and epic instead of sitting in a coffee shop at my computer.

Best Love Song You’ve Ever Heard in Your Life: Best Love Song, T-Pain 

Obviously. Please try to ignore the fact that Chris Brown is a part of this song.

Best Nostalgic in a Good Way, Hopeful, Everything is Going to be Lovely Song: Sweet Disposition, The Temper Trap

This is just my favorite song so it automatically made the list.

Best Anthems to Make You Feel All Around Resilient: Strip Me, Natasha Bedingfield; Titanium, David Guetta feat. Sia; Club Can’t Handle Me, Flo Rida feat. David Guetta

These are songs that I would describe as “My Jams.” They can be yours too because they’re exciting and make you feel good.

So there you have it! The first winners of the Missys. An eclectic group, certainly not necessarily the most noteworthy or artistically brilliant but songs that make me feel like I could be a pop star and that properly exemplify the current soundtrack of my life.

Tagged , , , , , , , , ,

2 thoughts on “The Missy Awards

  1. Rebe says:

    I loved listening to all of these songs! When can we expect the next Missy Awards?

Leave a comment